No. 2000 for the BC Review!

When we launched The British Columbia Review — then The Ormsby Review — in September 2016, little did we expect that seven years later we’d post our 2000th review. I’m grateful to everyone — reviewers, publishers, authors, booksellers, and readers — for making it such a success and promoting BC writers, writing, and culture. It would be impossible to thank everyone by name, but I must mention Trevor Marc Hughes and Brett Josef Grubisic for their hard and inspired work over the last six months as interim editors during my 2023-24 sabbatical.

We are also in the middle of our 2023 fundraiser, which we launched on November 7th, and I’d like to remind readers to make a holiday season donation if their means permit. So far we’ve raised about $5,100, less than half of what we need to meet our objectives and keep offering our reviewers $100 per review. Thanks to the sixty donors who have generously contributed so far, some of them in response to the email appeals I’ve sent to previous donors and current friends of the BC Review.

Richard Mackie. (Photo: Rupert Mackie)

Our donate button is here, and even if you are unable to donate at this time, please subscribe if you haven’t already — for free — and you will receive an email from us with every third post, listing the most recent reviews.

Also, it would help if you could forward this appeal to interested friends who might like to donate or subscribe.

Thanks very much for considering a donation to mark our 2000 reviews of books by BC authors in 7 years!

Richard Somerset Mackie


The British Columbia Review


The British Columbia Review

Editors, 2023-24: Trevor Marc Hughes (non-fiction), Brett Josef Grubisic (fiction)

Publisher: Richard Mackie

Formerly The Ormsby Review, The British Columbia Review is an on-line book review and journal service for BC writers and readers. The Advisory Board consists of Jean Barman, Wade Davis, Robin Fisher, Barry Gough, Hugh Johnston, Kathy Mezei, Patricia Roy, Maria Tippett, and Graeme Wynn. Provincial Government Patron (since September 2018): Creative BC. Honorary Patron: Yosef Wosk. Scholarly Patron: SFU Graduate Liberal Studies. The British Columbia Review was founded in 2016 by Richard Mackie and Alan Twigg.

“Only connect.” – E.M. Forster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This